Parliament of GhanaSince Ghana’s return to constitutional rule in 1992, the country has maintained a steady democratic system of governance, held six successive general elections and witnessed two smooth transfers of power from ruling regimes to opposition parties in 2001 and in 2009 respectively.

Ghana operates a presidential system akin to that of the United States of America where the President of the Republic, who wields executive power, is elected every four years by universal adult suffrage. Under the concept of Separation of Powers, the 275-member Parliament of Ghana is separate from the Executive though the parliament has a strong connection to the Executive arm of government through the system of appointment of Ministers of State, at least 50 per cent of whom should also be Members of Parliament.

Ghana’s political system is stable, open, democratic and accountable, and the principles of good governance, respect for human rights and adherence to the rule of law are entrenched norms in Ghana’s political system.